"Inscription of Hope"

The Holocaust is a stunning reminder of the tragic results of prejudice and hate toward other people.  But it is also a reminder that hope held firm will eventually reign victorious over the greatest of odds.  The following words were inscribed on the walls of a cellar in Cologne, Germany, where Jews were hiding from the Nazis during WWII.  Hope was all they had to hold on to; hope was their only bridge to a brighter tomorrow.

I believe in the sun even when it is not shining,

And I believe in love even when there's no one there.

And I believe in God even when he is silent.

I believe through any trial there is always a way.

But sometimes in this suff’ring and hopeless despair,

My heart cries for shelter, to know someone’s there.

But a voice rises within me saying hold on my child,

I’ll give you strength,

I’ll give you hope,

Just stay a little while.

I believe in the sun even when it is not shining,

And I believe in love even when there's no one there.

And I believe in God even when he is silent.

I believe through any trial there is always a way.

May there someday be sunshine.

May there someday be happiness.

May there someday be love.

May there someday be peace.